Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google Log In with Steam Sign In
  • Create Account
Photo

Client can not connect to WolfET game server

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1
OFFLINE   Scottie1972

Scottie1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
0
Unknown
Can anyone help with this issue?
I am running WolfET 2.60b on a Windows XP SP3.
My server shortcut looks like this:
"C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\ETDED.exe" +set dedicated 2 +set net_ip 98.66.218.89 +set net_port 27960 +set fs_game silent +exec silent.cfg

I like the silent Mod very nice.
Anyway, for testing purpose.
Firewall - Disabled
DMZ Mode = Enable (all inbound traffic to server)

console output look like this:

ET 2.60b win-x86 May 8 2006
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\silent\silent-0.5.0.pk3 (417 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory/silent
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\etmain\tj10map10.pk3 (1 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\etmain\pak2.pk3 (22 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\etmain\pak1.pk3 (10 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\etmain\pak0.pk3 (3725 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\etmain\mp_bin.pk3 (6 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory/etmain

----------------------
4181 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
couldn't exec language.cfg
execing profiles/DeadMeat/etconfig.cfg
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
...detecting CPU, found Intel Pentium III
Bypassing CD checks
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
Winsock Initialized
Opening IP socket: 98.66.218.89:27960
Hostname: scottie-a2e1f22
IP: 98.66.218.89
Working directory: C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory
execing silent.cfg
sv_maxclients will be changed upon restarting.
execing objectivecycle.cfg
logfile opened on Wed Dec 28 16:17:22 2011

g_gametype will be changed upon restarting.
------ Server Initialization ------
Server: oasis
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\silent\silent-0.5.0.pk3 (417 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory/silent
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\etmain\tj10map10.pk3 (1 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\etmain\pak2.pk3 (22 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\etmain\pak1.pk3 (10 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\etmain\pak0.pk3 (3725 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory\etmain\mp_bin.pk3 (6 files)
C:\Program Files\Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory/etmain

handle 1: etconsole.log
----------------------
8362 files in pk3 files
------- Game Initialization -------
gamename: silEnT
gamedate: Nov 22 2011
395 cvars in use.
------------------------------------------------------------
InitGame: \omnibot_playing\0\mod_url\http://mygamingtalk.com/\mod_version\0.5.0\voteFlags\0\g_balancedteams\0\g_bluelimbotime\20000\g_redlimbotime\30000\gamename\silEnT\g_tyranny\1\g_damageXPLevel\50\g_damageXP\1\g_gametype\2\g_voteFlags\0\g_alliedmaxlives\0\g_axismaxlives\0\g_minGameClients\0\g_needpass\0\sv_allowAnonymous\0\sv_privateClients\0\mapname\oasis\protocol\84\version\ET 2.60b win-x86 May 8 2006\g_antilagDelay\0\omnibot_enable\1\g_maxConnsPerIP\4\g_heavyWeaponRestriction\100\g_antilag\1\g_maxlives\0\g_friendlyFire\1\sv_floodProtect\0\sv_maxPing\0\sv_minPing\0\sv_maxRate\45000\sv_minguidage\0\sv_punkbuster\0\sv_hostname\ETHost\timelimit\30\sv_maxclients\1\g_maxGameClients\0\g_maxlivesRespawnPenalty\0
Start of warmup.
Cheat logfile open: cheat.log
readconfig: loaded 6 levels, 0 bans, 0 subnet bans, 0 commands and 0 warnings
Gametype changed, clearing session data.
serverstats: loaded 1 mapstats
settings: loaded 1 banners
*=====INITIALISING USER DATABASE
* Opening user database file userdb.db.
* Opening user database file userxdb.db.
* User database files open. Caching database.
1 players cached from the user database.
No additional user records in the user database.
*=====DATABASE READY FOR USE
Enable spawning!
Disable spawning!
0 teams with 0 entities
-----------------------------------
Setting MOTD...
Omni-bot: Looking for C:/Program Files/Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory/omni-bot\omnibot_et.dll, found.
Omni-bot: Found Omni-bot: C:/Program Files/Wolfenstein - Enemy Territory/omni-bot\omnibot_et.dll, Attempting to Initialize
Omni-bot: Omni-bot Loaded Successfully
ET Script Executed
Loaded Waypoints.
Bot Initialized in 0.46 seconds.
Setting Allied autospawn to Allied Camp
Setting Axis autospawn to Old City
Warning: setstate (pump2_sound) called and no entities found
142 Goals Loaded, 22 Goals Deferred, 0 Goals could not load.
-----------------------------------
execing mapconfigs/default.cfg
couldn't exec mapconfigs/oasis.cfg
Resolving etmaster.idsoftware.com
etmaster.idsoftware.com resolved to 192.246.40.60:27950
Sending heartbeat to etmaster.idsoftware.com
Hitch warning: 4510 msec frame time
Hitch warning: 750 msec frame time


NOTE:
I can play on if I am on the same server. But if I or a friend trys from a remote client, no connection is made.
We just get the "Waiting Gamestate.... 1,2,3,4,5 ... " message
Any ideas what is going on?

Scottie

#2
OFFLINE   gaoesa

gaoesa

    Advanced Member

  • Management
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4391 posts
341
Will become famous
  • LocationFinland
Is the server behind NAT?

#3
OFFLINE   Scottie1972

Scottie1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
0
Unknown
im not sure i understand but it is setup like this.

ISP > DSL Modem > WorkGroup Station > Server (wolfET)

there is no visual access to the WorkGroup Station (192.168.1.XXX )

#4
OFFLINE   gaoesa

gaoesa

    Advanced Member

  • Management
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4391 posts
341
Will become famous
  • LocationFinland
NAT is used to create a local network behind a public IP address.
http://en.wikipedia....ess_translation

(192.168.1.XXX ) Looks like it would be a local network where the server is. Unfortunately I'm not an expert in network hardware and setups. If you could get access to the router you could try forwarding the ET server port to the server machine and then use the public IP address in the connection attempt.

#5
OFFLINE   Scottie1972

Scottie1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
0
Unknown
well in that case, no it is not behind a NAT.
the WolfET Server's IP is my public address.

#6
OFFLINE   gaoesa

gaoesa

    Advanced Member

  • Management
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4391 posts
341
Will become famous
  • LocationFinland
Hmm, it would still look like a network related problem. The "awaiting connection" is the first screen when connecting and happens when the client is trying to establish the connection to the server. I hope someone here has more experience from these types of problems then me. Thank you for the compliments about the mod though. It's always nice to hear people like it.

#7
OFFLINE   Scottie1972

Scottie1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
0
Unknown
Well, ok.
Thank you for your help.

#8
OFFLINE   Scottie1972

Scottie1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
0
Unknown
seems when I run a Port Scan, port 27960 is not open.
now I do have it set in the firewall.
it is almost like ETDED.exe is no opening the port.

#9
OFFLINE   gaoesa

gaoesa

    Advanced Member

  • Management
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4391 posts
341
Will become famous
  • LocationFinland
ETDED.exe has no access to the firewall configuration. Or did you mean that it doesn't start listening the port? If you can connect to it locally, meaning from the same machine, it does listen it.

#10
OFFLINE   Scottie1972

Scottie1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
0
Unknown
I can connect and play locally. (same machine)
but not from a remote connection.( any other - even on same network)

#11
OFFLINE   TheSilencerPL

TheSilencerPL

    Advanced Member

  • Management
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3096 posts
216
On the road to fame
  • LocationPoland
What's the output of
ipconfig /all
?

#12
OFFLINE   Scottie1972

Scottie1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
0
Unknown

What's the output of

ipconfig /all
?


Attached File  ipconfig.jpg   54.45KB   5 downloads

Edited by TheSilencerPL, 29 December 2011 - 05:47 PM.
hid the mac


#13
OFFLINE   TheSilencerPL

TheSilencerPL

    Advanced Member

  • Management
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3096 posts
216
On the road to fame
  • LocationPoland
Thanks.

but not from a remote connection.( any other - even on same network)

Can you ping the server computer from the client computer?

#14
OFFLINE   TheSilencerPL

TheSilencerPL

    Advanced Member

  • Management
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3096 posts
216
On the road to fame
  • LocationPoland
It looks like you are behind a gateway, are you? It looks like you obtain the address from the router via DHCP, that's why the client has to first go through the router to connect to you. If it is like this, you have to configure the router to allow the traffic on specific ports or place the server computer in DMZ.

#15
OFFLINE   Scottie1972

Scottie1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
0
Unknown

It looks like you are behind a gateway, are you? It looks like you obtain the address from the router via DHCP, that's why the client has to first go through the router to connect to you. If it is like this, you have to configure the router to allow the traffic on specific ports or place the server computer in DMZ.


the router in DMZ enabled. for that server.
I can run a Team Fortress Classic server and can connect no problems.
the http server works fine no problems.
all remote connections to mysql work fine.. no problems.

but!
if i open a command prompt (start > run > cmd)
then telnet 98.66.218.89 27960

Return:
Connecting to 98.66.218.89...Could not open connection to the host, on port 27960: Connect failed

yea! i stuck also!

#16
OFFLINE   Petbark

Petbark

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
30
Getting Better
Have you got that port directing to the ET server (port forwarding)?

#17
OFFLINE   Scottie1972

Scottie1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
0
Unknown
Yes!
Posted Image
As you can see GameTracker can find the game and the game details.
But no one wanting to play can connect.

Like I said, it is very strange issue.

#18
OFFLINE   Scottie1972

Scottie1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
0
Unknown
OK so i did some Google Searching. And i cam up with "NETSTAT -a" that gave me a list of "Listening" ports.
Posted Image
As you can see, The port is open but for some reason WolfET (DED) is not listening on port 27960.
I think this is why no one can connect.

Any ideas on how to fix this?

Scottie

#19
OFFLINE   gaoesa

gaoesa

    Advanced Member

  • Management
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4391 posts
341
Will become famous
  • LocationFinland
You can test if the etded is listening by connecting from the local machine. /connect 127.0.0.1:27960. If it works, it is listening. If it doesn't, some other program is using the port.

#20
OFFLINE   Scottie1972

Scottie1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
0
Unknown
Yes gaoesa, It does work by using "/connect 127.0.0.1" and it also is listed in the "local" list of the HUD.
I just found out yesterday that I have a Static IP address.
Could this be the reason why it is not working?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: enemy territory

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users