Possible Skin options?

Antichrist

I've been playing on Silent for several months now, most reviews from players are great.

The server I usually play on has just updated from 0.3.3, to 0.4.0.

The main concencus with players so far is they would like an option to use the previous menu/skin style.

Will this be something to look for in the future, or will this just be a new change for everyone to get used to?

• Management
TheSilencer has been the author of the new menu and partial HUD themes. So he is the best to answer this. Though, the initial intent was to include the traditional ET menus but some new features didn't permit this. The old one didn't have the required flexibility. I doubt that there is going back to the old. At least in the fullest extent.

Whilst I understand the limitations of the original themes, i'm sure (if it is worth doing to keep people happy) that you could replicate it whilst keeping current flexibility.. But, what do I know :) I'm a programmer but I'm not a mod developer xD Know absolutely nothing about the backend of ET.

• Management

It's possible to use the old styles of windows but only to some extent. It's the backward compatibility which was tried to be achieved here. This is something that would require to change the WINDOW macro definitions in menumacros.h. Just change the WINDOW_STYLE_SIL_TITLE to WINDOW_STYLE_FILLED or whatever from among old styles defined in menudef.h.

However this is of course not recommended, as the final result might not be what it used to be before and of course this would change the UI look for all the players because such change would have to be made server side.

There is no possibility to switch to the old UI on the client side.